How To “Read” A Book

What stands out to be is the books with dark colors, and dark designs on the front.

  • Why?  they remind me of a few books I have read that were based on sy-fy and paranormal entities.

The letter ‘P’ appeared 6 times

The paper is rough, the cover is smooth with relief on it where the letters are.  If I close my eyes, the ink on the pages, and the pages themselves feel one, what few pictures are in the book, the colors all feel the same.  The pages have a dengy look to them. It makes the book look older, worn, it looks like it has personality to it.  The cover has more personality to it, the letters feel like letters.

The book is paperback.  At the spine, glue holds the cover, and the pages together.  The book has no signatures.  Looking at the glue, I see it darken, it is growing old, starting to detereroate a little bit.  In the glue, I can see the pages become one.

There is writing, other than the book itself, in the book.  the writing tells of the original owner, a best friend of mine, who knew how much I loved the Dark Tower series, and how much I enjoyed this specific book.

The color of the pages are a dingy yellow.  They are not white at all.  The dingy yellow is a warm, dull color.  Lighter in the center, darker as light seeps into the edges of the pages.  The other things I can visually expolore in the book are the dark areas between the pages where the pages meet at the spine.  I ask myself how lonely it must be in there.  If there are any chances that there has been someone, or something touches those areas.

I can see a lot of evidence that someone else handled this book.  On edges of the pages, there are smudges, dents in the pages.  The Cover seems to be lifting off itself.  The spine is bent a little bit, as if read over and over again.  I doubt that the book has been used like I am using it right now.

I can hear the sound easily.  It sounds soft, unharming, as if you were to flip the pages quickly, you wouldn’t be able to find anything in the book that could harm you.  I can easily feel the breeze, the amount of pages makes it cool.  I could use the wind power to win any game I created, because I was the creater, and the book, and game, are mine.

Dropping the book on the floor, it makes a loud thud, the book is big in size.  I can feel the vibrations with my feet easily.  They are strong.

The book isnt cold, but it is cool.  I can feel the temperature change, I have a high body heat, and it is noticable on other surfaces.  I have thought about it, but not fully aware of it.  I think I have never fully noticed it before because it isn’t something that impacts my day to day activites with books.

The smell reminds me of public school libraries.  The books there are old.  They have been read by many eyes, and held by many hands.

The title is Wizard and Glass.  By reading the first page, I would not be able to tell why the book is titled that.  But if having to ask, I was assume the title was chosen because there is a train, that asks riddles and kills those who either do not answer, or answer wrong.

The experience is slighty different instead of reading the book, I read teh book, and think of what went into making the book, those who owned it before me, how they enjoyed it, and how future readers will enjoy it.  I do not find books boring, books are an escape for most, and an escape for me, when the digital world cannot suffice.

You fishbowled this assignment by telling us to pick up a red book.  You fishbowled it by telling us what to look for, and feel, and smell.  I think the point of this excercise was to see that a book is not just a book. A book is history, from those who read it before us, to those who will read it after us.

From this excerise, I can take a new perspective on my projects.  Instead of thinking how the professor will look at it, I can think of how those after the professor would look at it, if it was used as an in class example.

Leave a Reply

