Based On Artwork: American Gothic

I chose the painting American Gothic as the subject of this image for a few reasons.  My original intent was to vectorize the image, and then give it a demonic look.  This idea came from when I was little my grandfather had a smaller version of this in his house in Georgia, needless to say, it frieghtned the shit out of me for some reason.  But after outling the image, it proved to be time consuming to I decided to just outline it and color it.

I started by placing the image into Illustrator, and then creating layers for the outlines of each subject, and then do layers of detail corresponding to each subject.  I then converted the image to live paint and used the live paint tool to add color to it.

Leave a Reply

