Life After Graduation

Where do I see my self employed after graduation?  To be honest, I have a few ideas running around in my head, and they all jump out at me.  As noted in previous entries, I want to pursue a career in Video Game Design and Development.  But recently, I have been playing with the idea of double majoring with Game Design and Development, as well as Web Design/Programming for the web.  These decisions arose from a childhood dream of mine, and from a conversation in a class of mine.

As far as Video Game Design and Development goes, the ideas I have are working for major companies.  My dream job would be to work for the company Crytek.

Crytek has pushed the boundaries of video games in the past 5 years.  With the release of Crysis 1 on Pc, Crytek created a game that was so demanding on system resources that even high end computers would have troubles running the game on high settings.  With the launch of Crysis 2 on Xbox 360, Playstation 3, and PC, Crytek revamped their engine, and created a visually better looking game, with less system requirements.

Crysis 1 (2007)

Crysis 2 (2011)

I would love to be apart of a company who is not looking at the future of what they can do, but looking at the now, and how they can make the future happen in todays video games.

As a second plan, aside from my dream job, I would love to be involved in working with Bethesda Game Studios on their Elder Scrolls series.

Bethesda is known for great looking games, with a lot of content, and in depth stories.

But, as for the web aspect of my double major, I came up with the idea of making the web more accessible for those with accessibility issues.  This idea stemmed from a conversation in my Multimedia Authoring Tools class.  The most common reason for developers to skip out on acceptability options is because they feel it compromises their design.  I feel that this is unfair to those who need a screen reader.  Google says they want a free web for everyone, I want a free and accessible web for everyone.

Leave a Reply

